Is naan bread vegan? No, naan bread is not vegan.
Now that we got the short answer out of the way, lets discuss why naan isn’t vegan, as well as how you can cook or purchase vegan naan.
I had lunch with a colleague today. We went to an Indian restaurant he knew of, very close to our meeting site, which was important since the weather wasn’t cooperating much. The restaurant shall remain nameless, since it isn’t one I care to refer to anyone!
Regardless, our server was great. He helped me find a vegan meal and as our food was being brought to the table, he grabbed my naan (an Indian flat bread usually served to help sop up all the delicious sauces), and said he’d provide a vegan alternative for me. Apparently, naan is made with milk and eggs. Who knew?
Again the food was actually pretty bad, but the service was stellar. I was really impressed that this person cared enough to ensure that my dietary requirements were being met. He certainly would not have suffered in any way if I’d been served the naan, and quite frankly, I never would have known it wasn’t vegan.
So, once again I’ve learned you cannot make any assumptions… ASK, ASK, ASK!
What is Naan Bread Made From?
The ingredients in green are vegan, while the ingredients in red are non-vegan.
As you can tell, naan typically contains dairy products. It won’t contain all of the dairy products listed above, but it will use 1 to 2 of them. If you’re at a restuarant that doesn’t specalize in vegan food, it’s best to avoid any naan bread as it is definitely non-vegan.
Sun Basket is the healthiest meal kit delivery in the industry, leading the space with a number of different dietary meal plans, and a focus on all organic. If you're interested in ordering Sun Basket, then I hope that our Sun Basket review helps you out!
AUTHOR Lindsey Blakley CATEGORY Education/Products POSTED ON May 17, 2020 There are many snacks and beverages produced by large