Vegan Cheesesteak  Sandwich

This video is a really short one showing you how to make a vegan cheese-steak sandwich.

I grew up in the New York metropolitan area. We were close enough to Philadelphia to have heard of Philly cheesesteak sandwiches, but I, myself never actually had one. I frequently heard people raving about how wonderful they are. I always heard, and continue to hear today the arguments over who makes the best cheesesteak sandwich.

What is a  cheesesteak sandwich

A cheesesteak, also known as a Philadelphia cheesesteak, Philly cheesesteak, cheesesteak sandwich, cheese steak, or steak and cheese, is a sandwich made from thinly sliced pieces of beefsteak and melted cheese in a long hoagie roll. A popular regional fast food, it has its roots in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

Which cheesesteak sandwich is best Pat’s or Geno’s

There are two restaurants right near each other in Philadelphia, Pat’s and Geno’s. Both will argue that they have the best cheesesteak sandwich. And plenty of people will stand there are tell you the that Pat’s is the best, and there are probably as many people who will tell you that Geno’s is the best. Articles have been written about this for years.

We want a vegan cheesesteak sandwich

Regardless of the cheesesteak story, we’re vegans here. All we want to eat is plant-based food. We don’t want meat that comes from an animal. We don’t want cheese that comes from a cow. So without further ado, let’s get right to the video:

You don’t need meat

As you can see, this quick video shows you how easy it is to make a vegan version of this Philadelphia classic sandwich. I’m sure there are people in Philadelphia who are going to turn their noses up at the mere idea that you can make this Philadelphia classic without using any cow’s meat of cow’s cheese.

Recipe for a vegan cheesesteak sandwich

I know that this was a really quick video and you might not have been able to absorb all the information. Fear not, here a link to get the recipe for this vegan cheese steak sandwich.

Is Worcestershire Sauce vegan?

Usually, the answer is no. You might be surprised to learn that Worcestershire Sauce usually contains anchovies.  Fish are not vegan. But fear not, there are vegan versions of the popular sauce available, or you can make it yourself.

Vegan Worcestershire Sauce

Here is a recipe from PETA

1 cup cider vinegar
1/3 cup dark molasses
1/4 cup soy sauce
1/4 cup water
3 Tbsp. lemon juice
1 1/2 tsp. salt
1 1/2 tsp. mustard powder
1 tsp. onion powder
3/4 tsp. ground ginger
1/2 tsp. black pepper
1/4 tsp. garlic granules
1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper
1/4 tsp. cinnamon
1/8 tsp. ground cloves or allspice
1/8 tsp. ground cardamom

• In a blender puree all of the ingredients.
• Pour into a saucepan and bring to a boil. Store in the refrigerator.

There are many, many variations, do a search on Google, you’ll even try one from Martha Stewart.

Buy Vegan Worcestershire Sauce

Alternatively, if you don’t want to make your own, and with all those ingredients, I could understand why you might not want to, there are several different manufacturers of Vegan Worcestershire Sauce. Here’s a link to Amazon and you’ll see just how many varieties there are. You can even buy a giant 128 oz. container, but I can’t imagine you’d need that much in your entire lifetime.



Get Vegan Bits

Subscribe to Vegan Bits. Get beautiful images, recipes, and vegan-related news in your email.

You have Successfully Subscribed!