Kosher Doesn’t Mean Vegan

kosherSometimes we forget that food labels are important.  It gets a little tiring reading labels for all our grocery store purchases.  After a period of time, we feel we've come to know certain products and feel comfortable buying them, but manufacturers often change their recipes, and the packaging doesn't necessarily reflect this.  Luckily many companies are including allergy information in bold at the bottom of their ingredient lists.  It usually looks something like this:

Contains:  Milk, Peanuts (or wheat, or soy).

So that is our first benchmark.  We also rely heavily on the V that stands for Vegan on many food products.  We used to look for Kosher or Parve when we first went vegan, but subsequently found out that Kosher ? Vegan... or vegetarian for that matter.  If fish is less that  1 2/3% of the finished product, then it is considered "nullified." and not necessarily indicated on the label.  Also:

Kosher Parve products are allowed to contain, according to Jewish laws, eggs, honey, and fish. So you still need to READ THE LABEL! In this matter, Jews Kosher does not concur with Hindu and Jain Ahimsa. But still it is a good help for buying processed food.  ~ Source:  Jiv Daya

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Some articles may have affiliate links for which we may receive compensation. Furthermore we use analytics programs to track visitor behavior. You can read more via our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy which is at: http://veganbits.com/privacy-policy/

Speak Your Mind

*