Guinness is finally vegan!

guiness is vegan
image credit: Yumi Kimura

Ireland’s perhaps most iconic beer is now vegan-friendly, as Guinness reportedly has finished its phaseout of a material used in the brewing process that involved fish parts.

Diageo, the company that manufactures the brand, said the new process for making the stout does not use isinglass, a product made from fish bladders that helps remove extra yeast.

Isinglass, which had been part of the brewing process for centuries, has historically been used not to affect the taste of the drink so much as to filter out yeast in the brewing process.

source: Washington Post

Guinness is now vegan… Truly awesome news!



Get Vegan Bits

Subscribe to Vegan Bits. Get beautiful images, recipes, and vegan-related news in your email.

You have Successfully Subscribed!